The products that contain less than 0.3% THC are federally legal in Alabama. People above 18 years of age are legally allowed to purchase CBD products.
The Alabama Industrial Hemp Research Program has a $200 application fee for anyone who wants to grow, process, or handle hemp in the state.
Consumers may buy CBD online through a specific brand’s website as well. The following are some of the highest-rated, BBB–accredited CBD stores in Alabama: Magic City Organics, LLC, CannaBama: The CBD Store, American Cannabis Company, Inc
Table of contents
- Is CBD Legal in Alabama?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Alabama?
- Who Can grow CBD products in Alabama?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws.
2.Alabama CBD lawShortly after the 2018 Farm Bill's passage, Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall announced a public note declaring CBD products with less than 0.30% THC content by weight under state law. He emphasized the importance of exercising caution when purchasing CBD products since the state of Alabama has yet to establish specific guidelines for such cannabis derivatives. Here are some of the aspects of CBD legal in Alabama:
Carly’s Law (SB 174)This law protects individuals who use CBD products for epileptic seizures and other debilitating health conditions under certain conditions. Patients can use CBD products only when they first receive a prescription from the University of Alabama-Birmingham. Though “prescription” might be complicated because doctors are not allowed to prescribe medical marijuana in every state.
Leni’s Law (HB 61)Individuals with seizure-inducing conditions may be able to use CBD, but public access has been limited by FDA-approved CBD treatments that are only available for children.
2016 Alabama Industrial Hemp Research Program ActUnder this law, the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries (ADAI) must conduct a licensing and inspection program for industrial hemp production. It also highlighted the fact that industrial hemp comes from the same source as marijuana, but it contains only traces of THC.
Senate Bill 225In June 2019, governor Kay Ivey has signed SB 225, which permits Alabama pharmacies to distribute CBD products.
Licensing RequirementsThe Alabama Industrial Hemp Research Program has a $200 application fee for anyone who wants to grow, process, or handle hemp in the state. People who are licensed should pay $1,000 as a participation fee. An applicant of a license must submit a growth plan for hemp farming, including all the information related to growing techniques, production methods, and yields. As part of the application process, law enforcement will conduct a background check.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In AlabamaHealth and wellness dispensaries or retailers typically offer high-quality products for purchase. Consumers may buy CBD online through a specific brand’s website as well. The following are some of the highest-rated, BBB–accredited CBD stores in Alabama: Magic City Organics, LLC, CannaBama: The CBD Store, American Cannabis Company, Inc.
Medical Cannabis in AlabamaThe law allows the use of medical cannabis for several things, including the following: Autistic Spectrum Disorder; Cancer-related weight loss, nausea, vomiting, and pain; Crohn's Disease; Depression; Epilepsy or a condition causing seizures; HIV/AIDS-related weight-loss or nausea, Tourette's Syndrome, and chronic pain that is unresponsive to therapy.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Alabama
Step 1: Visit a PhysicianIn order to get a recommendation, you have to visit a licensed doctor. However, remember that you must be at least 19 years old in Alabama to be considered using medical cannabis. Some restrictions apply to getting medical marijuana cards. The patient must have a qualifying condition, which the doctor determines during their in-person assessment. Their other requirements are that they have tried conventional therapy unsuccessfully or haven't had any at all. Doctors can deny approval based on these reasons only if it's in the best interest of the health.
Step 2: Connect to the Alabama Medical Cannabis CommissionOnce your physician has approved you, you can register for the state’s marijuana patient registry system. If you want to register over the internet, there will be a time where it is possible at a future date.
Step 3: Receive Your CardAt present, state officials have not yet released information on how long applicants will need to wait before they have their applications processed. Most probably, you will receive your card after a few weeks.
More about Medical Cannabis CardThe total cost of the application fee for an Alabama medical marijuana card is $65. The average cost of a doctor’s consultation is around $150-$300. The card is valid for 12 months.
Dosage limitsThe law allows MMJ cardholders to possess a max of 70dailly doses of medical cannabis in 12 months. A total daily amount should not include more than 50 milligrams of THC. If the patient is terminal or with the doctor’s approval, patients can increase their dosage of THC from 50mg to 75mg a day. Patients who use a higher dose of medical marijuana in Alabama will have their driver’s license suspended.
Penalties in Alabama for Using Medical Marijuana Without a Medical CardThere is currently a law that deems the possession of any amount of cannabis to be a misdemeanor. You could face up to a year in prison and pay a 6,000 USD fine. If you are caught with any quantity other than personal use, you will be sentenced to a minimum of one year in prison. The sale of any amount carries a minimum two and maximum 20-year term.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.