The maximum amount of THC allowed in hemp-derived CBD oil is 0.3 percent, however, products with more than 0.3% THC are now available and can only be purchased from licensed cannabis dispensaries. Only consumable CBD goods may now be sold in legal retail marijuana stores.
Currently, anyone wanting to cultivate, process, or market industrial hemp must apply for a license through the Industrial Hemp Research Pilot program (IHRP). The program has recently integrated the separate application forms into a single universal form to streamline the licensing procedure and minimize the amount of supporting documentation needed to apply.
With the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill, a flood of CBD-infused items entered the Washington market. In accordance with existing regulations from the US Food and Drug Administration , Washington banned the sale of hemp-derived CBD in food and beverage products in October 2019.
Table of contents
1. Brief info
- Is CBD Legal in Washington?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Washington?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Washington?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2.Washington CBD lawsWith the passage of the 2018 Farm Bill, a flood of CBD-infused items entered the Washington market. In accordance with existing regulations from the US Food and Drug Administration, Washington banned the sale of hemp-derived CBD in food and beverage products in October 2019. While the ban is recent, and the state has yet to take any steps to penalize or prosecute businesses or CBD brands, officials from the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA) are working hard to remove these products from store shelves. The WSDA recently released a statement expressing their position on CBD in food and as a medicine. While CBD-rich foods are illegal in Washington, food processors who obtain a WSDA license may use other hemp ingredients in meals. Hemp seeds, hemp seed protein powder, and hemp seed oil are all permitted provided they meet all other criteria. CBD-rich topical treatments are also available for purchase from stores. The maximum amount of THC allowed in hemp-derived CBD oil is 0.3 percent, however, products with more than 0.3% THC are now available and can only be purchased from licensed cannabis dispensaries. Only consumable CBD goods may now be sold in legal retail marijuana stores.
Licensing RequirementsCurrently, anyone wanting to cultivate, process, or market industrial hemp must apply for a license through the Industrial Hemp Research Pilot program (IHRP). The program has recently integrated the separate application forms into a single universal form to streamline the licensing procedure and minimize the amount of supporting documentation needed to apply. The Department of Agriculture released a new policy statement on the transition from the Initiative for IHRP to a commercial hemp program that follows federal rules, as well as revised state laws, in light of the 2018 Farm Bill. The following are some of the most significant modifications to the updated hemp program:
- Licensed cultivators are solely responsible for obtaining hemp seed and must notify the IHRP of the source.
- The four-mile minimum buffer distance between a licensed marijuana grower and a legal cultivator has been eliminated.
- The IHRP license requirements have been streamlined to match the new hemp plan standards.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Washington?Currently, the use of CBD is prohibited in dietary supplements, food and beverage items in Washington State. At present, there are no WSDA raids taking place, so many of these products remain on store shelves, such as grocery stores and coffee shops. CBD products sold at authorized dispensaries, where consumers can discover and purchase CBD-based products including CBD oil and edibles, are not affected. Buying CBD oil or other CBD goods directly from a licensed dealer has several advantages, such as immediate access to a product and the assurance that it meets legal standards. CBD products are widely available for purchase online from a variety of merchants, with consumers able to read reviews and send purchases to their homes. Online purchasing also allows you to get specific information about each item, compare various items and product types, and compare shops to get the lowest price. The majority of CBD brands also have an e-commerce store where you may buy their product straight from the source. However, because non-THC hemp is not legal in Washington state, items purchased online are unlikely to comply with state regulations.
Medical Cannabis in WashingtonThe medical cannabis program in Washington is set up differently from most other states. Patients who have been approved by a doctor can go to any medically authorized marijuana store to talk with a licensed professional and register into the state's medical marijuana authorization database. This document allows patients to buy, possess, and cultivate a limited amount of marijuana plants at home. The Washington Department of Health is in charge of the state's medical-marijuana program. Although healthcare providers may authorize the use of marijuana for any patient as long as it is medically appropriate according to state law and their professional standard of care, only licensed practitioners are authorized to do so. The following are the qualifying conditions in Washington:
- Anorexia and other diseases which result in nausea, vomiting, cachexia (wasting syndrome), appetite loss, cramping, seizures, muscle spasms, or spasticity
- Chronic renal failure requiring hemodialysis
- Crohn's disease
- Epilepsy or other seizure disorder
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain
- Multiple sclerosis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Spasticity disorders
- Traumatic brain injury
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Washington
Step 1: Meet With a Certified DoctorMeet with a certified doctor to get approval for your medical condition.
Step 2: Fill in the Application and Pay the FeesFill in your application, by providing information about your residence, date of birth, qualifying condition, etc.
Step 3: Receive the CardReceive your card, after approval.
Washington CBD possession limitsConsumers can buy or possess up to one ounce of marijuana, 16 ounces of marijuana-infused CBD edibles in solid form, and 72 ounces of marijuana-derived CBD liquids. Excess amounts of marijuana-derived CBD edibles or liquids are considered unlawful possession. There is no specific punishment mentioned for those who have too much cannabis-derived CBD edibles or liquids. Possession of up to one ounce but not more than forty grams of marijuana, on the other hand, is considered a misdemeanor. Those convicted face imprisonment for 90 days and a fine of $1000. Possession of more than forty grams of cannabis is considered a felony, resulting in a minimum jail sentence of 5 years and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.