Industrial hemp has been legalized in Maine under LD1159 since 2009. In February 2019, the state passed additional legislation, LD 630, providing further rules for industrial hemp cultivation and product sales.
In Maine, the Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry is in charge of hemp licenses. Between January 1 and April 1 of the year they want to grow hemp, applicants must complete a license application. Applicants must also pay a $100 application fee when submitting their paperwork. If the application is accepted, licensees are responsible for a $500 annual fee.
CBD products sold in Maine must comply with labeling laws. All labels must list the contents, amount by weight, and name, address, and zip code of the manufacturer. Labels must not make any health claims, such as that hemp, CBD, or the product may be used to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any illness.
Table of contents
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in Maine?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Maine?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Maine?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. Maine CBD lawsIndustrial hemp has been legalized in Maine under LD1159 since 2009. In February 2019, the state passed additional legislation, LD 630, providing further rules for industrial hemp cultivation and product sales. The Maine Department of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs' DACF has stated that hemp products with a THC concentration of less than 0.3 percent are legal in Maine since CBD is derived from the same plant species as cannabis. According to Maine's statute, hemp cultivated, manufactured, or sold within the state must be licensed with the Department of Agriculture , Food and Rural Affairs. CBD products sold in Maine must comply with labeling laws. All labels must list the contents, amount by weight, and name, address, and zip code of the manufacturer. Labels must not make any health claims, such as that hemp, CBD, or the product may be used to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any illness. If a CBD-containing food is offered in a restaurant, the menu must clearly disclose the presence of CBD and each item's weight. In 1999, Maine became the first state to legalize medical marijuana via An Act to Establish the Maine Medical Marijuana Act. Cannabis was legalized for general use in 2016 under the Marijuana Legalization Act. The commerce of recreational cannabis has been delayed, much like many other states that have enacted marijuana laws. In June 2019, Gov. Janet Mills signed LD 719, which establishes a framework for the sale of adult-use marijuana and should become available for retail in early 2020. Patients with a medical marijuana card can only purchase CBD from state-licensed dispensaries
Licensing RequirementsIn Maine, the Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry is in charge of hemp licenses. Between January 1 and April 1 of the year they want to grow hemp, applicants must complete a license application. Applicants must also pay a $100 application fee when submitting their paperwork. If the application is accepted, licensees are responsible for a $500 annual fee. All industrial hemp must be grown using a certified seed source, as stated in Maine law. The Association of Seed Certifying Agencies or another recognized standard must certify the sources. Seeds must also come from plants that were tested during the current growing season and found to produce industrial hemp with 0.3 percent THC concentration or less. Hemp producers that want to get a commercial hemp crop license from the state of Maine must also submit samples for testing. The inspection, sampling, or testing of hemp crops may be triggered at any time by the department (although licensees are notified ahead of time). Licensees must allow complete and unrestricted access to the crop, and all plants will be tested. Currently, all hemp in Maine must be grown outdoors, despite the fact that lawmakers are currently developing rules for indoor cultivation.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Maine?Hemp-based CBD products, such as CBD oil, are available in Maine from a variety of retailers. Because the state allows CBD to be used as a food or food supplement, grocery stores, restaurants, and other food-related businesses sell CBD goods. You can also locate verified CBD brands and purchase CBD oil online. It's critical to conduct your own research and make sure you're buying CBD oil or other CBD products from a trustworthy source, whether it's an internet store or a physical location. If you're looking for a specific product or brand, go to the store's website or check out its Facebook page. While it's certainly possible to find fraudulent items online, reputable brands will almost always supply you with crucial product information, such as the type of CBD (such as oil, capsules, topicals, tinctures, etc.), the. Only state-licensed dispensaries may sell cannabis-derived CBD to people who have a medical marijuana card.
Medical Cannabis in MaineThe Maine Medical Use Marijuana Program was established to provide a safe and legal medical marijuana environment in the state of Maine. It offers regulation monitoring, procedures, rules, and assistance to participating members involved in the growth, processing, and distribution of medical marijuana and its derivatives. In order to be eligible for a Medical Cannabis card in Maine, you must receive an official diagnosis for a qualifying condition from a Maine medical practitioner. You must also submit proof of the diagnosis in your medical records. The following are examples of current qualifying medical conditions:
- Chronic Pain
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Seizure Disorders
- Severe Muscle Spasms
- Severe Nausea
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Maine
Step 1: Schedule an appointmentSchedule an appointment with a licensed physician.
Step 2: Meet with a doctorReach out to a qualified physician and arrange a meeting to go over your medical history.
Step 3: Receive the CardGet your card after its approval.
Maine CBD possession limitsThere are no restrictions on how much hemp-derived CBD, CBD oil, or other CBD products you may possess. There are no restrictions on the amount of CBD derived from cannabis that may be possessed, however there are limits to the number of Cannabis plants an individual can have. Individuals can possess a maximum of 2.5 ounces. Maine has a tiered system of fines in place for individuals who are found with quantities exceeding this limit.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139