Senate Bill 399, commonly known as the Texas Compassionate Use Act , legalized cannabis treatments with low amounts of THC, such as CBD oils, for epileptic patients. The Compassionate Use Act legalized the medicinal use of low-THC cannabis. The Act also allowed doctors in the state to prescribe low-THC cannabis treatments. Low-THC cannabis is any Cannabis sativa plant with less than 0.50 percent THC by weight.
Residents of Texas can obtain a license to produce, distribute, and sell consumable hemp through the DSHS's website.
The Compassionate Use Act legalized the medicinal use of low-THC cannabis. The Act also allowed doctors in the state to prescribe low-THC cannabis treatments.The registry must be set up to prevent one person from having multiple prescriptions from several doctors. It also must be available for dispensing organizations and law enforcement agencies to double-check an individual's registration.
Table of contents
1. Brief info
- Is CBD Legal in Texas?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Texas?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Texas?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. Texas CBD laws
2015 Senate Bill 339Senate Bill 399, commonly known as the Texas Compassionate Use Act, legalized cannabis treatments with low amounts of THC, such as CBD oils, for epileptic patients. The Compassionate Use Act legalized the medicinal use of low-THC cannabis. The Act also allowed doctors in the state to prescribe low-THC cannabis treatments. Low-THC cannabis is any Cannabis sativa plant with less than 0.50 percent THC by weight. The bill permits the use of cannabis for certain therapeutic purposes. Cannabis dispensaries must be licensed to sell low-THC goods under the law. Employees at dispensaries must also be registered with the DPS. The department was also assigned the duty of creating a secure online compassionate-use registry, as well as maintaining an active one. The following information must be included in the registry:
- Name of the clinician that recommended the low-THC cannabis product to the patient
- The patient's name and date of birth
- Suggested Administration Strategy
2019 Texas House Bill 1325Governor Greg Abbott legalized hemp farming, irrigation, cultivation, and harvesting in Texas under the 2019 House Bill 1325. In May, the Texas state government legalized hemp and hemp-derived products for commercial purposes under a bill authored by Gov. Greg Abbott (R). The bill to establish a pilot hemp program in Texas was enacted. Texans and businesses in the state may apply for licenses to cultivate hemp under the initiative. Hemp in Texas was defined in the state's cannabis laws as a Cannabis sativa plant with less than 0.3% THC on a dry weight basis. The standards and procedures for sampling, inspection, and testing should be specified in the rules. The industrial hemp plan's rules should include criteria for lab equipment calibration to ensure accurate THC content testing.
2019 House Bill 3703The bill broadened the list of qualifying illnesses for the state's medical cannabis program to include epileptic seizures, multiple sclerosis, and spasticity. To prescribe low-THC cannabis to patients, only a licensed physician with the following training is allowed:
- Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology
- Certified by the American Board of Clinical Neurophysiology
Licensing RequirementsResidents of Texas can obtain a license to produce, distribute, and sell consumable hemp through the DSHS's website. To obtain a license, you must complete the following steps outlined by the DSHS:
- Online applications should provide all necessary information
- Pay the fee
- Fill out the FBI Authorization Form.
- Describe the manufacturing plant and its location in detail.
- Give GIS coordinates in the region.
- Send a letter from the property owner.
- Have a criminal record checked.
- Take a fingerprint scan.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Texas?In 2019, the state of Texas passed a bill allowing the use of hemp-derived CBD. Although the sale of low-THC cannabis is permitted in the state, retailers must be licensed before selling their items. The DPS requires that all employees of any Texas cannabis dispensary be registered. When purchasing CBD goods, one of the most important things to look for is proper labeling. The overall milligrams (mg) of CBD in the bottle or package should be stated on the product label. The amount of CBD per serving and the number of servings in a package should also be stated on the label. For example, one gummy contains a typical serving size. The amount of CBD in each gummy is the maximum amount of CBD that can be included in a single serving. The amount of CBD in 300 mg gummies is 30, which means there may be up to 30 pieces inside. When it comes to locating the greatest CBD product, Better Business Bureau-accredited companies are recommended (BBB). The bureau collects consumer complaints and gives accreditation to businesses with good business habits. According to the Better Business Bureau, none of the 19 authorized CBD businesses in Texas has ever received a consumer complaint.
Where to Buy CBD Products LegallyThe state of Texas has several CBD dispensaries, most of which are in Houston. The following is a list of BBB-accredited CBD shops in Texas:
- CBD American Shaman of Houston Heights, Houston
- Gulf Coast Extractions, Houston
- John’s CBD, Friendswood
- Edible Candy Bites Distribution Co., Sugar Land
- Papa Bear Botanicals, Tomball
- CBD American Shaman, Port Arthur
- Hemp 360, New Braunfels
- Green Waves, Corpus Christi
- New Health 365, Abilene
- Your CBD Store of Lubbock, Lubbock
Medical Cannabis in TexasThe Compassionate Use Program in Texas (CUP) allows certain doctors to prescribe low-THC cannabis for medical reasons. Cannabis sativa L. is the source of low-THC. Any plant or its components, salts, resins, oils, and derivatives with less than 0.5 percent THC are classified as low-THC. The medical use of these chemicals is restricted to the ingestion of the prescribed dose of low-THC. If the condition is severe enough to benefit from low-THC cannabis, it can be prescribed.
- The patient is a long-term resident of Texas.
- The patient has one of the qualifying conditions.
- A CUP registered physician prescribes
- A licensed physician determines that the advantage justifies the danger
- The doctor will record a prescription in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT).
- After that, the patient or legal guardian may visit any lawful dispensary to acquire the prescription.
- The patient or legal guardian will need to provide their ID and the last name, date of birth, and last five digits of their Social Security Number.
- Seizure disorders
- Multiple sclerosis
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Terminal cancer
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Texas
Step 1: Meet With a Certified DoctorMeet with a certified doctor to get approval for your medical condition.
Step 2: Fill in the Application and Pay the FeesFill in your application, by providing information about your residence, date of birth, qualifying condition, etc.
Step 3: Receive the CardReceive your card, after approval.
Texas CBD possession limitsIn Texas, CBD is legal as long as the amount of THC present does not exceed .3 percent. For patients with a medical card in Texas, CBD with a concentration of.5% THC is permitted under the state's CBD medical program. If a person's CBD oil contains more than .3 percent THC, he or she could face felony charges for cannabis or THC oil possession. A conviction leads to a sentence of 180 days to two years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.