In 1923, lawmakers implemented marijuana prohibition in the state. In that same year, states like Nevada and Oregon also prohibited cannabis. A state law passed in 2016 allowed the use of marijuana under state law, allowing cannabis to be used according to the medical marijuana program.
Growers who have received approval are sent an invoice for the acreage fee, $100 per greenhouse, and a $100 fee for every location ID. Meanwhile, approved processors will be sent an invoice for a processor fee and a GPS verification fee of $100. All applicants need to be aware of the program rules and Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act before applying.
A state law passed in 2016 allowed the use of marijuana under state law, allowing cannabis to be used according to the medical marijuana program. Patients in Arkansas are required to get written certification from an approved physician before being allowed to use cannabis products
Table of contents
- 1. Brief Info
- 2. Arkansas CBD law
- Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment
- Licensing Requirements
- Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Arkansas
- Medical Cannabis in Arkansas
- Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
- More about Medical Cannabis Card
- Dosage limits
- Penalties in Arkansas for Using Medical Marijuana
- 3. Notes
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in Arkansas?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Arkansas?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Arkansas?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
2. Arkansas CBD lawA few months after Congress passed the 2018 Farm Bill, the (state government agency) Arkansas State Plant Board was created. The group oversees the state’s hemp program under the Department of Agriculture. According to the American Society for Testing and Materials, hemp producers must have a license to cultivate, process, and sell raw hemp or its byproducts.
Arkansas Medical Marijuana AmendmentIn 1923, lawmakers implemented marijuana prohibition in the state. In that same year, states like Nevada and Oregon also prohibited cannabis. A state law passed in 2016 allowed the use of marijuana under state law, allowing cannabis to be used according to the medical marijuana program.. Patients in Arkansas are required to get written certification from an approved physician before being allowed to use cannabis products.
House Bill 1778Arkansas House Bill 1778, set a start to the Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act and initiated a research program. In an effort to encourage studies on the economic benefits of industrial hemp production in states, Representative David Hillman wrote the law.
House Bill 1518House Bill 1518 from Representative Justin Boyd was introduced in February 2019 and approved one month later. This bill removed CBD products made from industrial hemp from the state’s list of controlled substances. The new law has made it legal for hemp farmers to cultivate, grow, and sell hemp-derived products.
Licensing RequirementsArkansas Department of Agriculture (ADEQ) states that for anyone interested in becoming a hemp farmer or processor, the following are required:
- Submit an application form
- Pay $50 for the application fee
- A $200 industrial hemp license fee for an already approved license
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In ArkansasThere are 30+ licensed dispensaries in the state of Arkansas. However, only some are operating at this point in time. Alternatively, CBD may be found at locations like health stores and vape shops if a licensed dispensary is not close by. Some of the recommended CBD retailers in Arkansas are:
- Little Rock
- Fort Smith
Medical Cannabis in ArkansasThe law allows the use of medical cannabis for several things, including the following: Autistic Spectrum Disorder; Cancer-related weight loss, nausea, vomiting; Crohn's Disease; Depression; Epilepsy or a condition causing seizures; HIV/AIDS-related, Tourette's Syndrome, and chronic pain that is unresponsive to therapy.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
Step 1: Visit a PhysicianIn order to get a recommendation, you have to visit a licensed doctor. However, remember that you must be at least 18 years old in Arkansas to be considered using medical cannabis. Some restrictions apply to getting medical marijuana cards. The patient must have a qualifying condition, which the doctor determines during their in-person assessment. Applicant should also show a proof of Arkansas residency Doctors can deny approval based on these reasons only if it's in the best interest of the health.
Step 2: Fill in the Application
Step 3: Receive the Card
More about Medical Cannabis CardArkansans who are a member of the National Guard or Military cannot buy medical marijuana.
Dosage limitsPatients or caregivers can purchase up to 70 grams every 14 days from one state-approved dispensary The ADH has restrictions on pain patients but can add new conditions for eligibility. The medical marijuana used by patients in Arkansas must be grown and treated inside Arkansas.
Penalties in Arkansas for Using Medical MarijuanaRecreational marijuana possession is illegal. Possession of more than 4 ounces, or 113.4 grams, of marijuana on a first offense, is punishable by up to one year in jail and/or fines ranging from $2,500 - $5,000.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.