Hemp cultivation in Missouri dates back to 1835. Records indicate that the greatest hemp production levels occurred around the mid-to-late 19th century. Cannabinoids are still classified as a Schedule 1 narcotic under federal law, despite the 1970 Controlled Substances Act, which classifies them based on abuse potential.
Hemp farmers who want to expand their operations must apply for a license from the Missouri Department of Agriculture . Residents of Missouri can now use cannabidiol for a variety of reasons, owing to its legality in the United States. High-quality CBD products, such as topicals, edibles, oils, and vapes, are now available from a number of retailers and dispensaries.
Senate Bill 491, which decriminalized cannabis possession in 2014, was signed into law by then-governor Jay Nixon. Individuals possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana were sentenced to no more than $500 in penalties. The Senate Bill passed and became law without the need for Governor Nixon's signature. However, the statute did not take effect until 2017.
Table of contents
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in Missouri?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Missouri?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Missouri?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. Missouri CBD lawsHemp cultivation in Missouri dates back to 1835. Records indicate that the greatest hemp production levels occurred around the mid-to-late 19th century. Cannabinoids are still classified as a Schedule 1 narcotic under federal law, despite the 1970 Controlled Substances Act, which classifies them based on abuse potential. After over 40 years, Missouri altered its marijuana laws in 2014. These are the state laws regulating CBD legalization in Missouri:
Senate Bill 491Senate Bill 491, which decriminalized cannabis possession in 2014, was signed into law by then-governor Jay Nixon. Individuals possessing 10 grams or less of marijuana were sentenced to no more than $500 in penalties. The Senate Bill passed and became law without the need for Governor Nixon's signature. However, the statute did not take effect until 2017.
House Bill 2238In July 2014, then Governor Jay Nixon signed House Bill 2238, which became known as Missouri's Medical Cannabis Act. Residents of Missouri with persistent seizures may use CBD oil if they have a registration card under the legislation. House Bill 2238 has the Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA) growing industrial hemp and producing extracts to treat epileptic persons. The bill simply legalizes hemp extracts that have at least 5% CBD and less than 0.3 percent THC. The MDA was assigned to provide licenses allowing nonprofit organizations to establish CBD hemp oil cultivation and production facilities.
Missouri Amendment 2In November, Missouri voters passed a marijuana legalization bill. It allowed patients using medical marijuana to grow up to six cannabis plants at home. They could also purchase at least four ounces of cannabis each month. Sales and use tax revenues from Amendment 2 were used to fund housing assistance, job training efforts, and healthcare services for veterans. Two other ballot measures that sought to legalize cannabis in Florida did not succeed after Amendment 2's approval. Amendment 3 had a provision added to the existing qualifying criteria, which it failed to pass. The proposed tax rate for medical marijuana usage, however, was 15 percent higher. Proposition C, a statutory change, was designed to reduce the medical marijuana tax. Nonetheless, it only garnered 44 percent of the vote in Missouri and was not approved.
Senate Bill 133Senate Bill 133 was written by Senator Mike Cunningham and signed into law by Governor Mike Parson in June 2019. The bill mandates that anyone who sells or distributes hemp must obtain a permit from the MDA. Farmers must maintain separate registrations for each hemp cultivation area, as required under this legislation. Hemp farmers must have their crops tested for THC. Any crop that reaches or exceeds the legal THC threshold may be destroyed. The Missouri State Highway Patrol can also conduct aerial surveillance to look for unlawful hemp farms.
Licensing RequirementsHemp farmers who want to expand their operations must apply for a license from the Missouri Department of Agriculture. These are the most important details applicants should be aware of while going through the application procedure:
- There is no application deadline for applying.
- The following is the address you should use to mail your forms: The Missouri Department of Agriculture, Industrial Hemp Program, PO Box 630, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0630.
- All applicants must submit a nonrefundable personal check, business check, cashier's check, or money order for $750 to the Missouri Department of Agriculture.
- Producers must pass a criminal background check imposed by both the state and the federal government.
- There is no limit to the number of permits or registrations that may be issued.
- There is no such thing as a minimal or maximum acreage requirement for registrants.
- Registrations and permits are valid for three years. To maintain the license, continuous compliance is required.
- The annual fee is $750.
- Individuals are allowed only one parcel of land for each application. A piece of property with a distinct legal description is known as a parcel.
- Individuals who want to grow industrial hemp in Missouri must first get a producer registration from the state. Registered growers are permitted to sell their crops once the hemp plants have met the required THC levels.
- The State of Missouri issues an "Agricultural Hemp Propagule and Seed Permit," which allows people to sell and distribute industrial hemp in the state. If you wish to keep agricultural hemp for more than 48 hours, you must get a producer registration.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Missouri?Residents of Missouri can now use cannabidiol for a variety of reasons, owing to its legality in the United States. High-quality CBD products, such as topicals, edibles, oils, and vapes, are now available from a number of retailers and dispensaries. In order to find the best CBD oil product in Missouri, one should look for a brand that meets legal standards. Missouri residents need to provide a neurologists’ recommendation instead of a prescription before they can buy CBD oil. The following are the state-licensed dispensaries where people can purchase CBD oil in Missouri:
- BeLeaf Medical in Saint Peters
- GRD Moberly in Moberly
- Harmony in Neosho
- Missouri Health & Wellness in Sedalia and Washington
- Old Route 66 Wellness in Springfield and Ozark
- The Dispensary in Cassville
- Fresh Green in Lee’s Summit
- Nirvana Bliss in Ballwin and Ellisville
Medical Cannabis in MissouriThe passage of Amendment 2 in Missouri on November 6th, 2018 made it legal for people with certain medical conditions to utilize cannabis oil legally. Amendment 2 establishes a 4% tax on medical marijuana sales, which will be used to fund military veteran services. This revenue is predicted to be approximately $24 million per year. Unlike most other states' medical cannabis programs, there are no required qualifying illnesses in Missouri. To be eligible for treatment with medical marijuana, a patient only needs a doctor's approval. You may grow up to six plants at home and purchase up to four ounces every 30 days from dispensaries once you've been certified for the Missouri medical marijuana program.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Missouri
Step 1: Fill in the FormTo begin, an MD or DO in good standing in the state of Missouri must fill out a Physician Certification Form. Use the Standard Physician Certification Form if you're looking for a typical recommended dosage of four ounces per month.
Step 2: RegistrationPatients must register with the Complia application portal to complete an application. To apply for your identification card, click the Patient/Caregiver Application Registration blue box under the photograph. If a "Warning-Exiting Site" pop-up box appears, choose "Yes" to go to the registry. Only applications submitted through the online registry are accepted.
Step 3: ApplicationPatients should visit the website and fill out an application after they have registered. By going to the Complia portal, clicking "+Create Application," and then "New Patient Registration," patients may submit an application. After caregivers have registered, they can create an application by logging into the Complia portal, clicking "+Create Application" and "New Caregiver Registration," then entering their personal information.
Missouri CBD possession limitsA patient who purchases CBD oil through the MHERP program may only take 20 ounces, or 535 milliliters, of CBD oil per month and must contain at least 5% CBD and no more than 0.3 percent THC. Outside of the MHERP, things are considerably more bewildering and extremely uncontrolled. Because the state has not made clear whether hemp CBD oil is legal, there is no set limit on how much hemp-derived CBD a person can buy or have.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139