Industrial hemp cultivation in Colorado is regulated by the state agency, the Colorado Department of Agriculture . SB 18-205 clarified guidelines on hemp's classification as an agricultural product
Applications are allowed at any time and typically take about 30 days to process. The application fee is $500 per applicant and an additional $5 per acre or 33 cents for every 1,000 square feet of outdoor grow space. Certifications expire after one year.
To use industrial hemp as an ingredient, manufacturers must register with the Colorado Department of Health and Environment and they need to be able to demonstrate that all parts of the hemp plant used in food originate from a country that inspects or regulates hemp under a food safety program, or equivalent criteria to ensure safety. Additionally, a producer or grower of industrial hemp must comply with any governing laws within the state or country where it was grown. As in almost all states, hemp must contain less than 0.3% THC. The plant other than seeds and their derivatives will have lab reports showing THC levels to be below 0.3%
Table of contents
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in Colorado?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Colorado?
- Who Can grow CBD products in Colorado?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
Colorado CBD LawsIndustrial hemp cultivation in Colorado is regulated by the state agency, the Colorado Department of Agriculture. SB 18-205 clarified guidelines on hemp's classification as an agricultural product. The state updated its laws allowing manufacturers to use parts of the industrial hemp plant as a food ingredient, subject to certain requirements. To use industrial hemp as an ingredient, manufacturers must register with the Colorado Department of Health and Environment and they need to be able to demonstrate that all parts of the hemp plant used in food originate from a country that inspects or regulates hemp under a food safety program, or equivalent criteria to ensure safety. Additionally, a producer or grower of industrial hemp must comply with any governing laws within the state or country where it was grown. As in almost all states, hemp must contain less than 0.3% THC. The plant other than seeds and their derivatives will have lab reports showing THC levels to be below 0.3%.
Licensing RequirementsIn order to you to apply for a license you must correspond to the following requirements:
- You should not be an employee of any government entity.
- You should have no convictions related to drug or alcohol use in the past.
- Your age should be at least 21, and your residency in Colorado must be current. (at least 2 years)
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In ColoradoConsumers can purchase legal CBD oil and other products in retail stores and online. However, it's important to research the CBD products you want to buy and make sure that they are from a trusted, reputable source.
Medical Cannabis in ColoradoColorado is a paradoxical state. While it is one of the most marijuana-friendly states, California may be considered more famous - even though both are equally renowned. One of the first states to legalize medical marijuana was Colorado, which approved Amendment 20 in 2000. The state became the second American state to allow adult-use cannabis. Amendment 64 was enacted in November 2012. The first recreational marijuana sale happened in January 2014. Now that it is possible to purchase pot in Colorado, what’s the point of going through the medical marijuana process? Below are several reasons for obtaining a medical marijuana card. First, your cannabis is cheaper because of lower taxes; for example, you don’t pay the 10% sales tax. If you use the application regularly, the cost of opening a new account is value for money in the long term. Some dispensaries have a medical side and a recreational side. On the medical side, more potent THC products are available, and you can purchase much higher quantities than what is allowed for adults. Also, MMJ patients over the age of 18 are eligible to apply for this program. Minors can also qualify if they have parental consent. Residents aged 21+ in the state of Colorado can buy recreational weed.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado
Step 1: Visit a PhysicianObtain a medical certification from a physician confirming your qualifying condition, and that treatment with cannabis is appropriate.
Step 2: Fill in the ApplicationFill in the application by attaching personal information and the certification from the doctor.
Step 3: Receive the CardOnce you get approved, the government will email your card, which later, you can print and take with you wherever you go. Your Red Card expiration date is based on when your application was accepted. The renewal process for an MMJ card should start at least 30 days prior to the expiry date. For the card's renewal, you have to consult with a doctor again.
More about Medical Cannabis CardColorado MMJ cards cost $25 to apply, and renewal fees are the same. Households with an income of 185% or less than the Federal Poverty Guidelines will be eligible for a waived fee. Often, you will pay between $60 and $100 for a consultation with a physician in Colorado.
Dosage limitsOne of the many benefits of your Colorado Red Card is that you are able to purchase two ounces of marijuana per visit. This is double the amount of someone who only uses cannabis recreationally. If you decide to purchase cannabis concentrates or edibles, the limit is eight grams if they contain over 800mg of THC.
Penalties in Colorado for Using MarijuanaIn Colorado, there is no penalty for anyone who privately cultivates up to 6 marijuana plants, with no more than 3 being mature. The cultivation of 6-21 cannabis plants is a level 1 drug misdemeanor punishable by up to 18 months imprisonment and a fine between 500 - $5,000. Anyone displaying, consuming, or using 2 oz. of marijuana or less will be convicted of a petty drug offense and could face penalties including a fine of up to $100 and as much as 24 hours community service.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.