New Mexico was one of several states that moved to legalize industrial hemp production after the passage of the US 2014 Farm Bill, but Gov. Susana Martinez vetoed the bill. The New Mexico governor vetoed the bill, and the state's lawmakers overrode his veto in 2017.
Licensed hemp farmers must submit a crop sample to state-approved testing labs shortly before the end of the growing season. A harvest certificate from the Department of Agriculture is provided once the laboratory verifies that the sample's THC content is legal.
Anyone who processes or transports CBD for human consumption must follow the state's food safety regulations, according to the legislation. The monitoring outlined in HB 581 ends when the product arrives at a store, perhaps in deference to the FDA's authority over CBD in food, cosmetics, and other consumer items.
Table of contents
1. Brief info
- Is CBD Legal in New Mexico?
- Who Can Buy CBD in New Mexico?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in New Mexico?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. New Mexico CBD lawsNew Mexico was one of several states that moved to legalize industrial hemp production after the passage of the US 2014 Farm Bill, but Gov. Susana Martinez vetoed the bill. The New Mexico governor vetoed the bill, and the state's lawmakers overrode his veto in 2017. The Legislature then proceeded and ultimately prevailed, adopting a legal limit for hemp of 0.3 percent or less THC by weight, following the federal government's standards. The law recognizes the right of federally recognized Native American tribes to create their own rules on hemp. In March 2019, the state of New Mexico passed HB 581, legalizing hemp, and began developing rules for its growth, testing, transportation, and processing. Individual permits are necessary for producing, extracting, and manufacturing hemp items under HB 581, which means a vertically integrated business would have to obtain three separate licenses each costing $1,000 per year. A state-licensed facility must test all goods before they can be distributed throughout the chain with a harvest certificate and manifest. Furthermore, each hemp or hemp-derived product must have a certificate of analysis from an authorized lab with a batch ID number, testing date, method of examination, and authorized signature. A valid certificate is required for the transport of finished products, but it is not necessary for direct-to-consumer sales. Hemp-derived CBD transportation without a harvest certificate is a minor misdemeanor punishable by up to $500 in fines. Anyone who processes or transports CBD for human consumption must follow the state's food safety regulations, according to the legislation. The monitoring outlined in HB 581 ends when the product arrives at a store, perhaps in deference to the FDA's authority over CBD in food, cosmetics, and other consumer items.
Licensing RequirementsLicensed hemp farmers must submit a crop sample to state-approved testing labs shortly before the end of the growing season. A harvest certificate from the Department of Agriculture is provided once the laboratory verifies that the sample's THC content is legal. In New Mexico, hemp producers must buy only industrial hemp that has a harvest certificate. The New Mexico Environmental Department requires a license for hemp-derived items. The application fee is $1,000. Meanwhile, selling pre-packaged CBD items produced by licensed producers does not need a special license. In the state of New Mexico, you must have a harvest certificate or a manifest that has been recognized by the state's Hemp Farming Act when transporting hemp products. Transporting hemp-derived items without a harvest certificate or a manifest may result in a $500 fine and/or a misdemeanor charge. A law enforcement official may arrest anybody having more than eight ounces of hemp in their possession. Hemp certificates are not required to move hemp products in tiny amounts for lab testing or research. However, the transporter must represent a legitimate hemp facility and provide information such as batch or lot identification, item description, origin and destination, total volume, and weight.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In New Mexico?The state's compliance with FDA rules has made it advisable for customers to choose CBD products that are not intended to be consumed or drunk. CBD tinctures, CBD oils, CBD topicals, and CBD vape pens are all available to consumers. CBD oils and lotions are the most common route of administration, but CBD edibles can also be eaten sublingually (under the tongue). Vaping is another way to use CBD. People in Las Cruces, Rio Rancho, Albuquerque, and other major towns may buy CBD oil at local CBD stores, vape shops, and health stores. Shoppers in regions without access to CBD may purchase from New Mexico-based online retailers or the brand's official website. Customers can also look up CBD review websites to discover CBD items with positive ratings. When buying CBD products, be sure they're from a lawful producer. The following CBD manufacturers are compliant with state and federal laws, according to the New Mexico Environment Department.
- CBDJay Manufacture Lab
- Eagle Moon Hemp
- Family Hemp Brands
Medical Cannabis in New MexicoIn New Mexico, patients must be at least 18 years old and over to qualify for a medical marijuana card and receive a doctor's prescription. A caregiver can be chosen to apply on behalf of a minor patient under the age of 18, or someone who is over 18 but requires assistance due to their illness. A qualified patient-practitioner designates the responsible caregiver, who is responsible for managing the well-being of a qualified patient with respect to medical cannabis usage. A person who is the primary caregiver must be a resident of New Mexico. The care provider must be at least 18 years old.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico
Step 1: Book an AppointmentVisit a certified physician and get a document confirming your condition, and that treatment with cannabis is appropriate.
Step 2: ApplicationFill in the online application and wait for approval.
Step 3: Receive the CardReceive your card after 35 days of your submission.
New Mexico CBD possession limitsThe state has no restrictions on the amount of hemp-derived CBD that individuals may possess.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.