People in Connecticut are permitted to buy CBD through both authorized sellers and online stores. The cultivation and sale of hemp-derived CBD products have been legalized under Senate Bill 893 which was enacted in May 2019.
Connecticut residents wishing to cultivate, process, or manufacture hemp must first submit an application for a license. A completed application for a town lot must include GPS coordinates and written consent from the Commissioner of Agriculture allowing scheduled or random inspections.
Connecticut does not make any distinction between hemp grown in-state and out-of-state that contain .3% THC or less. The way to obtain cannabis-derived CBD in Connecticut is through their medical marijuana program
Table of contents
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in Connecticut?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Connecticut?
- Who Can grow CBD products in Connecticut?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. Connecticut CBD lawsPeople in Connecticut are permitted to buy CBD through both authorized sellers and online stores. The cultivation and sale of hemp-derived CBD products have been legalized under Senate Bill 893 which was enacted in May 2019. This bill legalizes the sale of hemp products within Connecticut. Hemp products are defined as products made by processing hemp plants or hemp plant parts with a THC concentration of no more than .3% on a dry weight basis.. Furthermore, CBD ingested products derived from hemp are considered food items and not controlled substances or adulterated products. These products are not allowed to make any claim of health effects, medical benefits, or physical benefits. Connecticut's Department of Consumer Protection released a memo clarifying the state's position on CBD sales. For businesses in Connecticut, a variety of CBD products are now on sale including vaporizable and smokable forms of the cannabinoid. The number 1 requirement for any CBD product in Connecticut is that the product must have been sourced from a legally grown hemp plant containing less than .3% THC. Connecticut does not make any distinction between hemp grown in-state and out-of-state that contain .3% THC or less. The way to obtain cannabis-derived CBD in Connecticut is through their medical marijuana program. Patients who have been approved for a qualifying condition and a state-issued medical marijuana card may purchase cannabis products from state-regulated dispensaries.
Licensing RequirementsThe Department of Agriculture in Connecticut manages the state's hemp program, with the Commissioner of Agriculture held for distributing licenses. Connecticut residents wishing to cultivate, process, or manufacture hemp must first submit an application for a license. A completed application for a town lot must include GPS coordinates and written consent from the Commissioner of Agriculture allowing scheduled or random inspections. The Commissioner of Agriculture must certify seeds. No one with a felony conviction will be eligible to acquire a grower's license. The application fee is $50. Those who are licensed to grow hemp must pay an annual fee of $250, and $50 for every acre they grow. Those who grow, process, or manufacture hemp without a license may be fined up to $250.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In ConnecticutCBD products can be found in convenience, grocery, and smoke shops and CBD-specific retailers throughout Connecticut. CBD products derived from cannabis are available only at state-licensed dispensaries. Shopping for CBD products online is another option for purchase. Consumers can read reviews and order products from an assortment of online outlets before having them delivered to their homes. Online shopping also lets the user gather detailed product information, compare different products and product types, and compare prices to make sure they are getting the best deal. Many CBD brands also have their own ecommerce shop, where consumers can purchase the desired products.
Medical Cannabis in ConnecticutBy 2012, Connecticut legalized the use of medical marijuana. Since then, 4,914 patients had registered to date for MMJ prescriptions by 2015. That number increased fourfold by 2017 with 22,279 patients registered and getting their MMJ at a dispensary near them.. As of January, one out of every 75 Connecticut residents is a registered medical marijuana patient. This number has been rapidly increasing since legalization and doubled in the last year to more than 50 thousand patients. In 2012, 13 conditions qualified a patient for medical marijuana cards. By 2016, the list expanded to 17. In 2020, doubled to 38 with chronic pain being added as a qualifying condition early on in the year. Long term or short-term, chronic pain has opened up opportunities for people interested in having access to medicinal cannabis. At the current doubling rate, soon every person in Nutmeg State will be enrolled. Thus, we’ve got to gather enough signatures so that all adults can legally consume cannabis with ease-without the hassle of paperwork. As of January, 1,381 doctors sponsored patients
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Connecticut
Step 1: Visit a PhysicianVisit a certified physician and get a document confirming your qualifying condition, and that treatment with cannabis is appropriate.
Step 2: Fill in the ApplicationCreate and account within the state portal and fill in the application by answering some questions.
Step 3: Receive the CardAfter the application you have to provide your proof of residency, driver’s license etc., then if approved wait for the card.
More about Medical Cannabis CardIf you live in Connecticut and are interested in medical marijuana, you may find that the fees differ from place to place. Usually the prices range anywhere from $150 to as much as $200 for a general evaluation
Dosage limitsAdults over the age of 21 can possess up to 1.5 ounces of weed on their person, 7.5 grams of concentrate, or 750 milligrams in THC content available on a daily basis. They can also have up to 5 ounces of flower, 25 grams of concentrate, or 2.5 grams of THC in a locked box for personal use when stored at home or in the trunk or glove compartment of their vehicle.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.