Mississippi is one of the most hostile states in the country when it comes to cannabis. Even though several bill proposals have been introduced in recent years, attempts at recreational marijuana legalization have failed in committee.
In Mississippi, growing or processing hemp is not legal. The state may establish a licensing system depending on the FDA's forthcoming hemp rules and the conclusions of the Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Task Force .
The medical use of low-THC cannabis is currently permitted by law in Mississippi. In 2014, Gov. Phil Bryant signed HB 1231 "Harper Grace's Law" to allow patients with severe epileptic disorders to use and obtain CBD oil or resin that has at least 15% CBD and no more than 0.5 percent THC by weight.
Table of contents
1. Brief info
- Is CBD Legal in Mississippi?
- Who Can Buy CBD in Mississippi?
- Who Can Grow CBD Products in Mississippi?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. Mississippi CBD lawsMississippi is one of the most hostile states in the country when it comes to cannabis. Even though several bill proposals have been introduced in recent years, attempts at recreational marijuana legalization have failed in committee. The medical use of low-THC cannabis is currently permitted by law in Mississippi. In 2014, Gov. Phil Bryant signed HB 1231 "Harper Grace's Law" to allow patients with severe epileptic disorders to use and obtain CBD oil or resin that has at least 15% CBD and no more than 0.5 percent THC by weight. The University of Mississippi's Medical Center's Department of Pharmacy Services may give low-THC cannabis to patients by prescription. Patients can get it from the University of Mississippi's Medical Center's Department of Pharmacy Services after getting a doctor's prescription. All CBD products produced under this law must be cultivated at the University of Mississippi's National Center for Natural Products Research. In 2017, legislators passed SB 2610, allowing the use of CBD in epilepsy and other medical trials but not broadly legalizing it. Mississippi lawmakers have not established a state-regulated industrial hemp program since the 2014 Farm Bill and the more recent 2018 Farm Bill were enacted. Only HB 1547, which was passed on July 1, 2019, responded to the federal legislation. HB 1547 addressed several issues, including establishing the Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Task Force. This group, led by the Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce, was charged with conducting a thorough analysis of hemp's potential costs and benefits.
Licensing RequirementsIn Mississippi, growing or processing hemp is not legal. The state may establish a licensing system depending on the FDA's forthcoming hemp rules and the conclusions of the Mississippi Hemp Cultivation Task Force. The University of Mississippi must perform a lab test on every CBD product produced in Mississippi before it is distributed by the Medical Center's Department of Pharmacy Services. CBD products produced outside of Mississippi do not need to be tested, as long as they adhere to the requirements set out in HB 1547.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In Mississippi?Consumers in Mississippi can buy CBD products that are made from hemp. When you buy something at a physical location, an employee usually will be able to assist you. Explain what you're looking for, your reasons for using CBD, and they'll be able to direct you in the right direction. CBD is most frequently found on brand-specific websites when it comes to internet sales. Reputable brands will generally provide you with valuable product information, such as the form of CBD (such as oil, capsules, topicals, tinctures, etc.), the quantity of CBD in the product, the other chemicals or ingredients included in the product, and
Medical Cannabis in MississippiThe MSDH is still working out regulations on how to obtain medical cannabis authorization and who will be able to use it. However, the amendment does provide some details, such as qualifying diseases. The following are some of the 22 qualifying medical conditions for marijuana patients:
- Parkinson’s disease
- Epilepsy or other seizures
- Muscular dystrophy
- Huntington’s disease
- Cachexia (weakness and wasting due to chronic illness)
- Multiple sclerosis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in Mississippi
Step 1: Book an AppointmentVisit a certified physician and get a document confirming your qualifying condition, and that treatment with cannabis is appropriate.
Step 2: ApplicationFill in the online application.
Step 3: Receive the CardAfter the approval, you will receive your card.
Mississippi CBD possession limitsIt's legal to own any amount of CBD, as long as the substance is in compliance with relevant state rules. CBD is legal in Mississippi under a narrow definition, which is met with intense enforcement. The possession of any quantity of CBD containing more than 2.5 milligrams of THC per milliliter is prohibited by state legislation in Mississippi. Police are likely to arrest you if you appear to be smoking marijuana in Mississippi. The penalty for possession of fewer than 30 grams of cannabis is a fine of $250, which may be increased to $1,000 in fines and imprisonment for subsequent offenses. Possession of up to 250 grams is a felony, punishable by up to three years in jail and a $1,000 fine. A first offense for possession of 250-500 grams can result in eight years or a maximum $50,000 penalty. When 500 milligrams to one kilogram is possessed, the penalty ranges from 16 years to life in prison and a fine of up to $250,000.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.