The state of California permits the production and sale of cannabis and industrial hemp products. If you want to use CBD products, this means you won't be breaking the law
There is no state registration required for the industrial hemp market. In order to grow industrial hemp, prospective growers only need to complete a county registration. Hundreds of seed breeders and farmers may contact the CDFA for information on Industrial Hemp farming, application forms are also available at the CDFA website. The fee for registering is $900, and it runs for one year.
The Bureau of Cannabis Control is responsible for the oversight and licensing of medical and recreational cannabis markets, but they have assistance from two other agencies. The California Department of Agriculture's CAL Cultivation Licensing (CAL) Division regulates cultivators and tracks the state's distribution.
Table of contents
1. Brief Info
- Is CBD Legal in California?
- Who Can Buy CBD in California?
- Who Can grow CBD products in California?
- Who is protected from criminal offenses regarding CBD use?
- More in-depth information about the state regulations and laws
2. California CBD lawsThe state of California permits the production and sale of cannabis and industrial hemp products. If you want to use CBD products, this means you won't be breaking the law. Some of the guidelines set to help protect consumers from faulty CBD products include:
- Cultivation Requirements – Growers must get a license and use certified seeds to grow the plant. The crop needs to be grown in an appropriately controlled environment, with higher CBD levels, and lower THC.
- Labeling Requirements – Manufacturers must clearly label their products with accurate information. In order, for a product to legally it must have THC and CBD levels, ingredients, expiry date, and location of production. Also, it should not have unproven health and marketing claims that would possibly mislead consumers.
- Testing Requirements – Hemp materials must be tested within 30 days of harvesting. A registered sample should contain information about the registrant's contact details, name, registration number, name of seed cultivars, acreage of the crop, and address. Manufacturers of products should provide contact information for the laboratories they have used to test their products.
Licensing RequirementsThere is no state registration required for the industrial hemp market. In order to grow industrial hemp, prospective growers only need to complete a county registration. Hundreds of seed breeders and farmers may contact the CDFA for information on Industrial Hemp farming, application forms are also available at the CDFA website. The fee for registering is $900, and it runs for one year. Business applications for commercial cannabis cultivation don’t vary too much. Usually, cannabis growers need to provide information about their business owner, cultivation site, and business model, GPs coordinates, and more. However, note that the license registration process is pretty harsh. Hemp growers must undergo FBI background checks and let divisions know in advance what type of plant they will be growing.
Where to Buy CBD Products Legally In CaliforniaYou can find dispensaries in California almost everywhere. This is great if you're looking to pick up a small amount of CBD for your afternoon activities. Nevertheless, buying CBD in California may be challenging. CBD products are unregulated as of yet, and the fact that they are new to the market makes finding trustworthy sources even more tricky. There are many products on the market that have little to no CBD, even though they advertise otherwise. Thus, it is important to do your research before committing to a purchase. Don’t waste your money on a fake product. Generally, you may be able to legally purchase CBD in dispensaries, head shops, vape stores, etc. Below you can find some of the retailers where you can legally purchase CBD.
- Hollyweed Dispensary
- The Apothecarium
- Goldn Bloom
- Cloud 9
Medical Cannabis in CaliforniaProposition 215, which defines Marijuana as a medicine, was passed by California voters in 1996. It was the first provision for medical marijuana in any American state to pass. Senate Bill 420, also known as Proposition 215, clarified its implementation in 2003. On November 8, 2016, California citizens passed the Adult Use of Marijuana Act. The act legalized the possession and sale of recreational cannabis for adults age 21 or older. The legislature addressed some of the problems California's Proposition 64 inadvertently caused when it passed legislation in June 2017. New legislation to establish a medical marijuana program went into effect on January 1, 2018. It also establishes a single regulatory entity to oversee both medical and recreational cannabis operations in the state: the Bureau of Cannabis Control (BCC). Additionally, it gave some oversight powers to the state's agriculture and public health departments. MAUCRSA established all of the regulatory laws and procedures for commercial cannabis in California. The Bureau of Cannabis Control is responsible for the oversight and licensing of medical and recreational cannabis markets, but they have assistance from two other agencies. The California Department of Public Health's Manufactured Cannabis Safety Branch regulates cannabis manufacturing to meet state safety standards. The California Department of Agriculture's CAL Cultivation Licensing (CAL) Division regulates cultivators and tracks the state's distribution.
Steps to Receive a Medical Marijuana Card in California
Step 1: Visit a PhysicianObtain a medical certification from a physician confirming your qualifying condition, and that treatment with cannabis is appropriate.
Step 2: Fill in the ApplicationFill out the CDPH's Medical Marijuana ID registration form on their official website. Visit your county's health department within the county where you reside and bring proof of residency or other government-issued identification.
Step 3: Receive the Card
More about Medical Cannabis CardRegistry members may also designate a caregiver who can help them to obtain or use medical cannabis. To be a primary caregiver, the person must be at least 18 years old. They also have to consistently take responsibility for your medical care (e.g. housing, health, or safety)
Dosage limitsA person who is at least 21 years old may hold up to 28 grams of cannabis flowers and 8 grams of cannabis concentrates such as hash oil or shatter. Even California's home cultivation program can accommodate adults. Adults without a physician's recommendation are permitted to grow at least six plants, regardless of their maturity level. Medical cannabis patients and their caregivers under MAURSA are allowed to possess and transport up to 226.8 grams of dried cannabis. Legal cannabis users may have it in their car, but it must be packaged and sealed for transport. It is illegal to give away medical marijuana. Additionally, caregivers are not permitted to transfer medical marijuana.
Penalties in California for Using MarijuanaCalifornia has a cannabis-friendly culture, but it's illegal to smoke, vape, or consume marijuana in public. Smoking in a non-smoking area or within 1,000 feet of a school, daycare, or youth center, while children are still near, will result in an additional $250 in fines. Smoking, vaping, or otherwise consuming cannabis in a vehicle, boat or plane can have an additional $250 fine.
- Geoffrey William Guy; Brian Anthony Whittle; Philip Robson (2004). The Medicinal Uses of Cannabis and Cannabinoids. Pharmaceutical Press. pp. 74–. ISBN 978-0-85369-517-2.
- Bloomsbury Publishing (2010). Dictionary of Medical Terms. Bloomsbury Publishing. p. 139.